

NEWS RELEASE June 11, 2010

## Contact: Chris Saunders 619-297-9700 ext 1842

## Three New Trustees Elected to Thomas Jefferson School of Law Board

**SAN DIEGO**-The Thomas Jefferson School of Law Board of Trustees has elected three new members. They are Dennis Burks, Randy K. Jones, and David Ramirez.

"These new board members bring special expertise to the Board as we plan for our occupancy of the new building and the increase of efforts to develop the reputation and the recognition of the School," said TJSL Dean and President Rudy Hasl.

Dennis Burks is an experienced executive in the tourism / travel industry as well as the non-profit sector. Among high-profile positions he has held in San Diego is Executive Vice-President and General Manager of Sea World San Diego.

Burks is highly active in community affairs, belonging to several important organizations, including the board of the San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Randy K. Jones is an Assistant United States Attorney with the United States Attorney's Office in San Diego, where he has served since 1987.

Jones manages and supervises complex federal litigation and jury trial matters involving diverse federal criminal laws including fraud, computer crimes, immigration, narcotics and violent crime.

He also coordinates, directs and oversees complex federal criminal investigations and grand jury proceedings. Among his many professional affiliations, Jones is the president of the Earl B. Gilliam Bar Association in San Diego.

David Ramirez is the Executive Assistant Chief of Police and a 26-year veteran of the San Diego Police Department. According to his official biography, "Chief Ramirez was promoted to Executive Assistant Chief of Police in January 2008. As the second in command of this 2750 employee organization, Chief Ramirez is currently in charge of the department's 24/7 daily operation, its 408 million dollar budget, the Internal Affairs Unit and Media Services."

The chair of the board of trustees is John Seitman and other board members include Charles G. Abdelnour, Robert Ames, Justice Patricia Benke, Renée L. Comeau, Randy Grossman, Samuel J. Kahn, Magistrate William McCurine, Jr., Dean Richard Morgan, Richard Prochazka, Raymond D. Taramasco and Dean James P. White.

In January 2011, Thomas Jefferson School of Law is opening a state-or-the-art downtown highrise campus at 1155 Island Avenue in San Diego's East Village.